Monuments: A Novel

Monuments: A Novel by Clay Reynolds - book 4 in the Sandhill Chronicles

Sandhill Chronicles Book 4
by Clay Reynolds

Fourteen-year-old Hugh Rudd had his summer planned: mow lawns, practice baseball, buy a new mountain bike, and get ready for high school. But the Burlington Northern Railroad’s determination to demolish the Hendershot Grocery Warehouse, a symbol of Hugh’s small Texas home town, causes Hugh to re-examine his plans. As the locals gear up to stop the railroad, long-held secrets about both the town and Hugh’s own family come to light, and Hugh is caught up in the conflict to save his home town, and his family’s legacy.

With an all-new introduction to the Baen Ebook Edition!

This is Reynolds’s fourth novel about the dusty, hot, and sleepy West Texas town of Agatite, a faded stewpot of roiling passions, savage gossip, and crooked politics…. This warm and entertaining story is solidly written and vividly atmospheric. Reynolds spins a compelling yarn.

—Publishers Weekly

The novel propels its way to a satisfying, explosive end.

—The Dallas Morning News

Reynolds’ fifth novel is undoubtedly his best and one that secures his place among fine Texas and American writers.

—Review of Texas Books

Reynolds has combined his interest in the bizarre antics of everyday folks with time on their hands and commentary on the value of the past and what it can teach us.”

—Texas Writer’s Newsletter

Winner of the Violet Crown Award for Fiction, 2001

Runner-up for Spur Award for Best Contemporary Western

Finalist—Western Heritage Fiction Award