Authored Books

Clay Reynolds has written sixteen books. Six of these are nonfiction volumes ranging from scholarly studies to extended essays; ten of these are works of fiction, all novels excepting one, which is a collection of short fiction.


Stage Left: The Development of the American Social Drama in the Thirties. Troy, New York: The Whitston Press, 1986.

One Hundred Years of Heroes: The Southwestern Exposition and Livestock Show. Fort Worth: TCU Press, 1995.

Twenty Questions: Answers for the Aspiring Writer. Dallas: Browder Springs Press, 1998.

[With Hunter Lundy] Let Us Prey. Columbus, Mississippi: Genesis Press, 1999.

Of Snakes and Sex and Playing in the Rain: Random Thoughts on Things Harmful to Your Health. Houston: Stone River Press, 2007.

A Cow Can MooThe Irony of the Artistic Lie. Richardson, TX: UT Dallas, 2004.


The Vigil. New York: St. Martin’s Press/Richard Marek, 1986; London: Robert Hale, 1986; Tokyo: Shinchosha, Inc., 1989; rpt. Dallas: SMU Press, Southwest Life and Letters Series, 1988; rpt. Lubbock: Texas Tech University Press, 2001.

Agatite. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1986; Tokyo: Shinchosha, Inc., 1995; New York: rpt. [as Rage] Signet, 1994.

Franklin’s Crossing. New York: Dutton, 1992; Signet, 1993.

Players. New York: Carroll and Graf , 1997; Pinnacle 1998.

Monuments. Lubbock: Texas Tech University Press, 2000.

The Tentmaker. New York: Penguin/Putnam/Berkley, 2002.

Ars Poetica. Huntsville, TX: Texas Review Press, 2003.

Threading the Needle. Lubbock: Texas Tech University Press, 2003.

Sandhill County Lines. Lubbock: Texas Tech University Press, 2007.

Vox Populi: A Novel of the Common ManHuntsville, TX: Texas Review Press, 2013.